Sweet Potato Hash

Finally after four months without having any furniture or floor as well as working with half a kitchen, the builders will be turning up tomorrow to start the finishing works woohoo! They did start a couple of months ago but there was a hold up with our floor and kitchen being delivered so it has been seriously dragging on. I can not wait until my house is back to normality!
Which brings me to my recipe sweet potato hash, as works are starting on the kitchen I am having to clear everything out and try and use up as much food as possible. I found the perfect idea from Skinnytaste, one of my fav food bloggers. she has some amazing recipes on her site and they are so easy to understand too!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 x tbsp of Olive Oil
  • 1 x Red Onion
  • 2 x Medium Sweet Potato
  • 3/4 tsp of Dried Thyme
  • 1/2 of Chilli Powder or Paprika
  • 1 x tsp of Garlic Powder
  • Add 4 tbsp of Water
  • 150g x Diced Chroizo
  • 4 x Large Free Range Eggs
  • 1 x Handful of Grated Low Fat Cheddar Cheese

METHOD

First chop up the onion and cut the sweet potatoes into around 1/2 inch cubes. A sharp knife is definitely recommended to do this, which is what I do not have at the moment so I tried my very best with what I had!

Heat up the Olive Oil in the pan and then add the chopped onions. Cook for around 4 minutes- until soft. Add the sweet potato, garlic powder, chili powder, water and a sprinkle of black pepper. Mix it all together.

PicsArt_1429450874968

Cover and then cook for around 10 -12 minutes on a low – medium heat, stirring frequently unit the potatoes are soft and crispy.

PicsArt_1429450771174

Next add the chorizo and cook for a couple of more minutes.

PicsArt_1429450735819

You then need to make 4 wells (holes) in the pan and crack an egg into each well. I can be pretty terrible at cracking eggs so I crack it open into a cup and then pour it into the well, that way I don’t end up splitting the yolk.

PicsArt_1429450672366

 

Cook for another 3 -4 minutes and then sprinkler the cheese over the top. Wait for the cheese to melt and the eggs to cook further- around another 3 minutes. Then you’re ready to serve up! If you’re a savage like me a dollop of ketchup goes nicely. 🙂

PicsArt_1429450565106 (1)

 

 

Enjoy! Xx

Leave a Reply

