Skinny Burrito Bowl

burrito

My absolute favourite food is Mexican, I love love love it! We would have either fajitas, enchiladas, burritos at least once a week but it can tun out quote calorific with all the cheese, wraps and sauces. So I decided to lighten it up and that it was! It was very light and refreshing but still filled you up, I will definitely be adding it to my meal rota!

INGREDIENTS    (This Served Three People)

  • 1 x Cauiflower
  • 300g of Shredded Chicken
  • Shredded Lettuce
  • 1 x Avocado
  • 230g of Black Beans
  • Sweetcorn
  • Salsa
  • Garlic Powder
  • Olive Oil
  • Coriander / Cilantro
  • Lime Juice

METHOD

Firstly prepare the cauliflower to make cauliflower rice. This was my first time of making and eating it and I was not disappointed. If you haven’t tried it already it is a must and a lot healthier then rice! I prepped my cauliflower the night before so I didn’t have too much to do once I finished work.

All you need to do it chop the cauliflower into small florets and then grate it up into rice like pieces using the large holed side of the grater. You could also use a food processor but I do not have one unfortunately.

Cauliflower Rice

Cauliflower Rice

Pop it in an air tight container and you good to go. It should keep for up to 5 days in the fridge or 3 months in the freezer.

Cauliflower rice

Next comes the shredded chicken, I used to make mine in the slow cooker unit it got ruined in the flood 😥 but now I use the saucepan trick, which I also used to use when I was in a hurry.

Shredded Chicken

Heat up a tablespoon of Olive Oil in a saucepan and then add the chicken breasts. Cook for 5 minutes. Then turn the chicken breast over and add either water or stock so it just goes over the chicken around 350 -400ml. Cover the pan and let it simmer for around 6-8 minutes. Take the chicken out, grab two forks and shred away!

You now need to cook the cauliflower rice. Heat 1 tbsp of Olive Oil in a large pan and then add the cauliflower, a sprinkle of salt and one tbsp of Garlic Powder. Let it simmer away for 6-8 minutes unit the grains are nice and tender. While the rice is cooking add the black beans in a pan and cook for 5 minutes on low heat, stirring occasionally without letting it boil.

Cauliflower Rice

Once the rice is  cooked add some coriander (cilantro) and lime juice. Mix it all together and then place in the bowl on top of the shredded lettuce.

You are then ready to place the rest of your toppings on! I then added the black beans over the rice with sweetcorn and topped it off with the chicken. I added the salsa and avocado on the side. You could even top with some cheese if you was feeling a bit naughty or add some yogurt too! The possibilities are endless! I wanted to spice mine up a bit some added a touch of hot chili sauce.

Enjoy! Xx

Burrito Bowl

One thought on “Skinny Burrito Bowl

Leave a Reply

